Agile Alliance Board of Directors

Agile Alliance Board Members


Paul Hammond, Chair (England)

Paul is a 20+ year veteran of the software industry, and an 10+ year convert to Agile principles and practices for delivering software. He heads eBay’s European Product Development team. Before this, he spent 15 years at Microsoft in the MSN and Skype product teams.

A senior engineering leader, Paul’s passion is growing and leading large geographically dispersed Agile development teams. Together, Paul and his teams have shipped large-scale Web, mobile, and communications products that are enjoyed by hundreds of millions of users worldwide. He also spearheaded Agile adoption and long-term transformation of both his own and other product teams within Microsoft, and has coached and mentored colleagues and teams at other external organizations.

Paul has been involved with the Agile20XX Conference since 2007 and had the privilege of being the Agile2015 Conference Chair. He lives near London, England, and relaxes by being a geek, watching the Red Sox, taking photos, playing musical instruments of various types, and hanging out with his family.


Craig Smith, Secretary (Australia)

Craig Smith, Agile Coach and Director at Unbound DNA, has been active in the IT industry for over 20 years and has been an Agile practitioner, coach, and trainer for over 10 years. Craig helps organize the Agile Brisbane Meetup Group is the director of YOW! Conferences. He has presented at numerous Australian and international conferences, is an Agile editor for InfoQ, and co-hosts a podcast called “The Agile Revolution”.


Heidi Musser, Treasurer (USA)

As a senior Executive, Heidi has spent over 30 years leading and advising businesses on designing new operating & engagement models to drive digital transformation and achieve enterprise Agility. Her passion is ‘managing the soft side of technology’© – through the adoption of fundamentally different ways of working, thinking, and being.

A courageous leader and change agent, her Agile experience spans multiple decades and multiple industries. An active member of the Agile community, she is a co-creator of the Alliance’s Agile pilot Webinar Series on Business Agility and presented ‘The Agile Mindset and Enterprise Agility’ in May. She has been a member of Agile Alliance’s Supporting Agile Adoption Program since 2014. Additionally, she Co-Chaired Agile Alliance’s Agile Executive Forum in 2013 and 2014. Today she advises organizations on embracing the Agile mindset and Agile core principles to achieve enterprise Agility.


Ellen Grove, Interim Managing Director (Canada)

Ellen is an Agile coach, trainer, and organizational change agent with Agile Partnership. Based in Ottawa Canada, she works with organizations of all sizes around the globe to help them put Agile thinking and being into action. Open Space and LEGO SERIOUS PLAY are Ellen’s favorite facilitation approaches for getting people to talk with each other about the things that matter so that they can do great work together. She is a serial organizer of Agile events locally and internationally, and she presents frequently at Agile conferences in Canada and abroad sharing ways to use playful approaches to do serious work.


Victor Hugo Germano, (Brazil)

Victor is a Brazilian entrepreneur, working with Agile since 2004. From coding dojos in Brazil back in 2005 to running his own company, he has been working with Agile teams and helping the Brazilian community grow from small user groups to national conferences with more than 1000 participants.

Today, as an Agile coach, Victor helps teams and companies leverage of Agile processes and values to better deliver products. He is also on the front line of selling Agile projects, which has given him insights about how to build contracts to support this different way of working.

Victor is a co-founder of Lambda3. The company’s vision is to improve the software development discipline wherever they act, sharing their vision of quality and care for the profession. It aspires to create an organization where participation, responsibility, and transparency are keys to success, and a democratic workplace where everyone thrives.

Angie Doyle

Angie Doyle (South Africa)

I don’t think I have ever minded change… Over the course of my career, I have shifted from working face-to-face with customers (Business Operations), to articulating what customers need (Business Analysis and Process Engineering), to working with teams delivering the solution (Product Development and Product Ownership), to evolving ways to deliver the solution (Agile software development at a team level), to improving collaboration of many teams working together (Business and Enterprise Agility).

I help create delivery focused environments where:
• Exceptional performers are the new normal
• Individuals and teams share accountability for achieving goals
• There are high levels of team morale and trust
• Conflict is a creative, constructive force in the team
• There is clarity on roles and who does what
• There is a strong customer-centric focus

My specialisations include: High-performance team coaching | Agile/ Lean/ Kanban training, mentoring and coaching | Facilitation | Visual thinking | Product discovery and development | Team and product kick-offs | Business Analysis and Process Engineering.

Brian Button Agile Alliance Board

Brian Button (USA)

Brian Button is the Vice President of Engineering for Acertus in St. Louis. His organization is responsible for the online presence of Acertus as well as the internal advanced technology projects.

Prior to that, Brian began his career 30 years ago as a hardcore C/C++ dev on SunOS, building and delivering solutions in many languages and operating systems. He has worked in embedded systems, navigation software, mission control applications for NASA, and other interesting areas during his career. Eventually moving into Agile consulting and coaching, Brian traveled the Western world helping organizations learn better ways of developing software. He was instrumental in introducing Agile and Extreme Programming to St. Louis and has been an active leader in the Agile and Extreme Programming conferences and community in the US since the early 2000s.


Apeksha Patel (India)

An eXtreme programmer at heart and a Systems Thinker at mind, Apeksha is the first woman CST (Certified Scrum Trainer) in India and the first Accredited Kanban Trainer in India. She is the co-founder of two Agile companies and is a community leader in one of the largest Agile communities in India, Agility Thinking spoken and chaired conferences. With more than 17 years of experiences in different domains, today Apeksha works as a Chief Product Officer at Leanpitch.


Kemmy Raji (Canada)

Kemmy has been active in the IT industry for over 15 years in a variety of roles within the software development lifecycle. She has been a Scrum Master, an Agile Coach, a mentor, and an Agile trainer. She helps organize local Agile conferences and Meetups in Canada, and she has been an Agile20XX track reviewer for the past two years.