XP 2023 Amsterdam, The Netherlands

XP2023 Call for Submissions


XP 2023 — 24th International Conference on Agile Software Development

Amsterdam, The Netherlands • June 13-16, 2023

Important Dates

  • Abstracts due: Feb 5, 2023 (voluntary)
  • Submission deadline: Feb 12, 2023 Extended to Feb 17, 2023
  • Notification to authors: Mar 26, 2023
  • Camera-ready due: April 11, 2023

* All dates are defined as AoE (Anywhere on Earth).

XP is the premier Agile software development conference to combine both research and practice. It is a unique forum where Agile researchers, practitioners, thought leaders, coaches, and trainers get together to present and discuss their most recent innovations and research results.

At its inception, over 20 years ago, the XP conference focused solely on eXtreme Programming. It quickly widened its scope to include all modern Agile approaches, and all the developing aspects of agility. XP draws people from around the globe, providing a diverse and inclusive environment for learning and inspiring conversations.

The theme for XP 2023 is “Whole Team Sustainability”, a many faceted theme centering on the need to band together to solve the complex organizational and environmental challenges of our time.

Topics of Interest

We invite submissions of unpublished high-quality research papers full (15 pages) and short (8 pages) related to Agile and Lean software development. Full papers should present completed research that clearly addresses a research problem and document the details and results of a study. Short papers are expected to communicate emerging research results and/or trends that have the potential to be further developed.  Such papers may also present a vision on a given topic that addresses long-term challenges and opportunities that are thoroughly justified or clearly related to prior literature. We welcome submissions addressing topics across the full spectrum of Agile software development, broadly on Agile, and on issues of concern to researchers or practitioners (or both).

The connection between industry and academia is a core value of the XP conference. The academic track welcomes researchers and studies in methods and practices of software development, and in particular invites those around these topics and especially if they incorporate the theme of XP2023 on Whole Team Sustainability:

  • Sustainability 
    • Whole Team Sustainability
    • Sustainability of products, development, business models, and management
  • Leadership and Culture
    • Leadership and coaching
    • Human aspects, morale, values, ethics and believes
    • Diversity & Inclusion in Agile
  • Business agility and Startups 
    • Business and startups
    • Business and enterprise agility
    • Software startups
    • Global software development and offshoring
    • Large-scale agile and organizations
  • Data-driven agility and transformations
    • Measurement and metrics for projects, processes, software, and teams
    • Qualitative/quantitative improvement techniques
    • Tools and techniques for Agile and lean development
  • Engineering
    • Engineering and management
    • Development and operations
    • Agile ML Engineering
    • Testing, release management, and deployment
  • Product and Design
    • Requirements gathering
    • Product management
  • Education and Training
    • Education and training
  • Games
    • Games and game-based techniques
  • Emerging topics and future directions
    • Empirical studies and evaluations
    • Foundations and conceptual studies
    • Hybrid approaches to Agile software development
    • Agility for regulated AI systems

Submissions based on empirical studies conducted in industry-academia collaboration are encouraged.


The XP 2022 main conference proceedings will be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Business Information Processing (LNBIP) as Open Access.

Submissions will be first screened on rigor and relevance and then evaluated by at least three members of the program committee based on soundness, significance, novelty, verifiability, and presentation quality.


All submissions must conform to the LNBIP formatting and submission instructions. See the instructions for authors here.

The paper length should not exceed 15 pages (full papers) and 8 pages (short papers).

  • There is no limit on the number of submissions an author may submit, but authors are advised to focus on quality rather than quantity.
  • By submitting to the XP Research Papers Track, authors acknowledge that they are aware of and agree that papers submitted to XP 2022 must not have been published elsewhere and must not be under review or submitted for review elsewhere while under consideration for XP 2022. Please read the Code of Conduct for Authors.
  • Papers must be submitted electronically via EasyChair by the defined deadline.
  • Please note – The abstracts deadline is voluntary, so you can still submit after that deadline

Program Committee


(Preliminary) Program Committee Members

  • Noura Abbas, CTUO

  • Ademar Aguiar, Universidade do Porto

  • Scott Ambler, Ambysoft

  • Craig Anslow, Victoria University of Wellington

  • Hubert Baumeister, Technical University of Denmark

  • Jan Bosch, Chalmers University of Technology

  • Nanette Brown, Carnegie Mellon University

  • Frank Buschmann, Siemens AG

  • Fabio Calefato, University of Bari

  • Noel Carroll, National University of Ireland Galway

  • Philipp Diebold, Bagilstein

  • Torgeir  Dingsøyr, Norwegian University of Science and Technology

  • Yael Dubinsky, StepAhead

  • Jutta Eckstein, IT communication

  • Hakan Erdogmus, Carnegie Mellon University

  • Neil Ernst, University of Victoria

  • Ilenia Fronza, Free University of Bolzano / Bozen

  • Juan Garbajosa, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid

  • Alfredo Goldman, University of São Paulo

  • Peggy Gregory, UCLAN

  • Eduardo Guerra, Free University of Bolzen-Bolzano

  • Orit Hazzan, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology

  • Rashina Hoda, Monash University

  • Helena Holmström Olsson, University of Malmo

  • Fabio Kon, University of São Paulo

  • Philippe Kruchten, University of British Columbia

  • Kati Kuusinen,  Technical University of Denmark

  • Marco Kuhrmann, Reutlingen University

  • Casper Lassenius, Aalto University

  • Ville Leppänen, University of Turku, Department of Future Technologies

  • Kashumi Madampe, Monash University

  • Lech Madeyski, Wroclaw University of Science and Technology

  • Michele Marchesi, Cagliari University

  • Sabrina Marczak, PUCRS

  • Frank Maurer, University of Calgary

  • Daniel Méndez Fernández, Technical University of Munich

  • Tommi Mikkonen, University of Helsinki

  • Alok Mishra, Atilim University

  • Nils Brede Moe, SINTEF

  • Juergen Muench, Reutlingen University

  • Ipek Ozkaya, Carnegie Mellon Software Engineering Institute

  • Maria Paasivaara, IT University of Copenhagen & Aalto University

  • Cecile Peraire, Carnegie Mellon University Silicon Valley

  • Ken Power, Independent Consultant

  • Rafael Prikladnicki, PUCRS

  • Pilar Rodríguez, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid

  • Daniela S. Cruzes, SINTEF

  • Helen Sharp, The Open University

  • Darja Smite, Blekinge Institute of Technology

  • Simone V. Spiegler, University of Stuttgart

  • Viktoria Stray, University of Oslo

  • Stefan Wagner, University of Stuttgart

  • Xiaofeng Wang, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano

  • Hironori Washizaki, Waseda University

  • Eileen Wrubel, SEI

  • Joseph Yoder, The Refactory, Inc.

  • Tomas Gustavsson, Karlstad University


If you have any questions or comments, please contact the track co-chairs by email.