XP 2021 Submissions for Workshop on Large-Scale Agile Development

June 14-18, 2021


9th International Workshop on Large-Scale Agile Development LargeScaleAgile, Submissions

Important Dates

  • Submissions: due April 23, 2021 April 30, 2021
  • Notification to authors: due May 21, 2021
  • Workshop date: June 14-18, 2021 (day to be confirmed)
  • Camera-ready versions: (post-conference date to be defined)

All dates are defined as the end of the day anywhere on earth (AoE). 


This research workshop will explore the main research challenges in conducting Agile software development in large-scale software development projects. Large-scale Agile comprises elements that arise from scale, such as inter-team coordination, knowledge sharing, continuous software development, and project models that facilitate several self-managing teams — as well as comprising issues of globalization such as cultural, temporal, and geographical distance within multi-site development projects.

We are particularly interested to explore enterprise Agile, Agile businesses and Agile culture in the context of large-scale Agile development programs. There will be paper presentations but also plenty of opportunities for interaction and networking in keeping with the research workshop format.

Topics of Interest

The workshop will explore the full range of issues around how organizations, teams, and individuals handle large-scale Agile work. For some, large-scale Agile implies the specialist cultures that have been developed, refined, and evolved, such as the ethos of the popular music streaming service Spotify. In others, large-scale Agile frameworks such as SAFe or LeSS have been employed. While multiple or hybrid methods are necessary for some, such as in the offshore outsourcing sector.

Aspiring speakers are invited to submit a paper up to a maximum of 8 pages. Selected speakers will be invited to extend their papers for inclusion in post-conference proceedings.


The XP 2021 conference proceedings will be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Business Information Processing (LNBIP), and will be open access.

Submissions will be first screened on rigor and relevance, and then evaluated by at least three members of the program committee, mostly based on soundness, significance, novelty, replicability, and presentation quality.


All submissions must conform to the LNBIP formatting and submission instructions. Authors should consult Springer’s author guidelines and use their proceedings templates, either for LaTeX or for Word, for the preparation of their papers. Springer encourages authors to include their ORCIDs in their papers. In addition, the corresponding author of each paper, acting on behalf of all of the authors of that paper, must complete and sign a Consent-to-Publish form.

The paper length should not exceed 8 pages.

  • There is no limit on the number of submissions an author may submit, but authors are advised to focus on quality rather than on quantity.
  • By submitting to the XP Research Papers Track, authors acknowledge that they are aware of and agree that papers submitted to XP 2021 must not have been published elsewhere and must not be under review or submitted for review elsewhere while under consideration for XP 2021.
  • Papers must be submitted electronically via EasyChair by the defined deadline.


Program committee

  • Julian Bass, University of Salford, UK
  • Hubert Baumeister, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
  • Sarah Beecham, Lero, Ireland
  • Elizabeth Bjarnason, Lund University, Sweden
  • Jan Bosch, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
  • Torgeir Dingsøyr, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
  • Denniz Dönmez, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Tomas Gustavsson, Karlstad University, Sweden
  • Andy Haxby, Competa, The Netherlands
  • Eric Knauss, University of Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Maarit Laanti, Nitor, Finland
  • Ville Leppänen, University of Turku, Finland
  • Carl Marnewick, University of Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Tommi Mikkonen, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Nils Brede Moe, SINTEF, Norway
  • Parastoo Mohagheghi, The Norwegian Labour and Welfare Administration, Norway
  • John Noll, University of Hertfordshire, UK
  • Helena Holmström Olsson, Malmö University, Sweden
  • Alexander Poth, Volkswagen, Germany
  • Jan Pries-Heje, Roskilde University, Denmark
  • Scarlet Rahy, University of Salford, UK
  • Abdallah Salameh, Bambora AB, Sweden
  • Viktoria Stray, University of Oslo, Norway
  • Stefan Wagner, University of Stuttgart, Germany