XP 2021 Research Papers Submissions

June 14-18, 2021


Research Papers Submissions

Important Dates

  • Abstracts due: February 26, 2021
  • Submission deadline: March 5, 2021
  • Notification to authors: April 11, 2021
  • Camera-ready due: April 28, 2021

All dates are defined as the end of the day anywhere on earth (AoE).


XP is the premier Agile software development conference combining research and practice. It is a unique forum where Agile researchers, practitioners, thought leaders, coaches, and trainers get together to present and discuss their most recent innovations, research results, experiences, concerns, challenges, and trends. Whether you are new to Agile or a seasoned Agile practitioner, XP 2021 will provide an informal environment to learn and trigger discussion.

This year’s conference theme is “Agile turns Twenty while the world goes online”. 2021 marks 20 years since the publication of the Agile Manifesto, making it a good time to reflect on the past, the present and the future of Agile. The strength of XP is the way it enables conversations and the exchange of ideas between academics and industry practitioners. After the challenges of 2020 and during these times of great change it is as important as ever for us to come together and share what we have learnt over the last year. The conference will run online for a second year which gives us the opportunity to reach out to a global and diverse audience, and we particularly welcome contributions from new contributors and new perspectives, and look forward to meeting old and new friends in June 2021.

Topics of Interest

Agile continues to advance over the course of 20 years, and the focus of the XP conference program has expanded over the years. XP2021 solicits contributions that address all modern Agile approaches, as well as the application of Agile to applications including, but not limited to, DevOps, FinTech, AI/ML, IoT, and other mission-critical systems with global reach.

We invite submissions of unpublished high-quality research papers (full and short) related to agile and lean software development. We welcome submissions addressing topics across the full spectrum of agile software development, broadly on agile, and on issues of concern to researchers or practitioners (or both).

The topics of interest include, but not limited to, the following, in Agile and Lean contexts:

  • Beyond software
  • Business and startups
  • Business and enterprise agility
  • Continuous software engineering
  • Education and training
  • Emerging topics and future directions
  • Empirical studies and evaluations
  • Foundations and conceptual studies
  • Games and game-based techniques
  • Global software development and offshoring
  • Healthcare
  • Large projects and organizations
  • Leadership and coaching
  • Requirements elicitation, engineering
  • Testing, release management, and deployment
  • Qualitative/quantitative improvement techniques
  • Measurement and metrics for projects, processes, software, and teams
  • Sustainability, evolution, and revolution
  • Development tools and techniques

Submissions based on empirical studies conducted in industry-academia collaboration are encouraged.


The XP 2021 conference proceedings will be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Business Information Processing (LNBIP), and will be open access.

Submissions will be first screened on rigor and relevance, and then evaluated by at least three members of the program committee, mostly based on soundness, significance, novelty, replicability, and presentation quality.


All submissions must conform to the LNBIP formatting and submission instructions. Authors should consult Springer’s author guidelines and use their proceedings templates, either for LaTeX or for Word, for the preparation of their papers. Springer encourages authors to include their ORCIDs in their papers. In addition, the corresponding author of each paper, acting on behalf of all of the authors of that paper, must complete and sign a Consent-to-Publish form.

The paper length should not exceed 15 pages (full papers) and 8 pages (short papers).

  • There is no limit on the number of submissions an author may submit, but authors are advised to focus on quality rather than on quantity.
  • By submitting to the XP Research Papers Track, authors acknowledge that they are aware of and agree that papers submitted to XP 2021 must not have been published elsewhere and must not be under review or submitted for review elsewhere while under consideration for XP 2021.
  • Papers must be submitted electronically via EasyChair by the defined deadline.

Programme Committee

Co-chairs Email

  • Casper Lassenius, Aalto University, Finland
  • Xiaofeng Wang, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy

Programme Committee Members

  • Noura Abbas, CTUO
  • Ademar Aguiar, University of Porto
  • Craig Anslow, Victoria University of Wellington
  • Joseph Barjis, San Jose State University
  • Hubert Baumeister, Technical University of Denmark
  • Marthe Berntzen, University of Oslo
  • Jan Bosch, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Frank Buschmann, Siemens AG
  • Fabio Calefato, University of Bari
  • Noel Carroll, National University of Ireland Galway
  • Daniela S. Cruzes, NTNU
  • Torgeir Dingsøyr, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Yael Dubinsky, StepAhead
  • Jutta Eckstein, IT communication
  • Steven Fraser, Innoxec
  • Ilenia Fronza, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano
  • Juan Garbajosa, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
  • Alfredo Goldman, University of São Paulo
  • Eduardo Guerra, Free University of Bolzen-Bolzano
  • Orit Hazzan, Israel Institute of Technology
  • Helena Holmström Olsson, University of Malmo
  • Fabio Kon, University of São Paulo
  • Philippe Kruchten, The University of British Columbia
  • Ville Leppänen, University of Turku
  • Lech Madeyski, Wroclaw University of Science and Technology
  • Sabrina Marczak, PUCRS
  • Frank Maurer, University of Calgary
  • Tommi Mikkonen, University of Helsinki
  • Alok Mishra, Molde University College – Specialized University in Logistics
  • Nils Brede Moe, SINTEF
  • Parastoo Mohagheghi, NAV
  • Juergen Muench, Reutlingen University
  • Maria Paasivaara, IT University of Copenhagen & Aalto University
  • Ken Power, Independent Consultant
  • Rafael Prikladnicki, PUCRS
  • Bala Ramesh, Georgia State University
  • Pilar Rodríguez, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
  • Darja Smite, Blekinge Institute of Technology
  • Simone V. Spiegler, University of Stuttgart
  • Viktoria Stray, University of Oslo
  • Stefan Wagner, University of Stuttgart
  • Hironori Washizaki, Waseda University
  • Eileen Wrubel, Carnegie Mellon University