Large-Scale Agile Development (LargeScaleAgile)

JUNE 8-12, 2020

Copenhagen, Denmark

Research Workshop on Large-Scale Agile Development (LargeScaleAgile)

XP 2020 — 21st International Conference on Agile Software Development

An Agile Alliance Event

 June 8-12, 2020 Copenhagen, Denmark


Important Dates

  • Submission deadline: May 1st, 2020
  • Notification to authors: June 3rd, 2020
  • Workshop date: to be confirmed
  • Camera ready due: to be confirmed

All dates are defined as end of day anywhere on earth.

8th International Workshop on Large-Scale Agile Development (LargeScaleAgile)

This Research Workshop will explore the main research challenges in conducting Agile software development in large-scale software development projects. Large-scale Agile comprises elements that arise from scale, such as inter-team coordination, knowledge sharing, continuous software development, and project models that facilitate several self-managing teams — as well as comprising issues of globalization such as cultural, temporal, and geographical distance within multi-site development projects.

We are particularly interested to explore enterprise Agile, Agile businesses and Agile culture in the context of large-scale Agile development programs. There will be paper presentations but also plenty of opportunities for interaction and networking in keeping with the research workshop format.


Topics of Interest

The workshop will explore the full range of issues around how organizations, teams, and individuals handle large-scale Agile work. For some, large-scale Agile implies the specialist cultures that have been developed, refined, and evolved, such as the ethos of the popular music streaming service Spotify. In others, large-scale Agile frameworks such as SAFe or LeSS have been employed. While multiple or hybrid methods are necessary for some, such as in the offshore outsourcing sector.

Aspiring speakers are invited to submit a 7-page paper using the Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) format. Selected speakers will be invited to extend their papers for inclusion in post-conference proceedings.


The XP 2020 conference proceedings will be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Business Information Processing (LNBIP) and will be open access.

Submissions will be first screened on rigor and relevance and then evaluated by at least three members of the program committee based on soundness, significance, novelty, verifiability, and presentation quality.



All submissions must conform to the LNBIP formatting and submission instructions. See the instructions for authors here.

The paper length should not exceed 7 pages (full research workshop papers).

There is no limit on the number of submissions an author may submit, but authors are advised to focus on quality rather than quantity.

By submitting to the XP Research Workshop Track, authors acknowledge that they are aware of and agree that papers submitted to XP 2020 must not have been published elsewhere and must not be under review or submitted for review elsewhere while under consideration for XP 2020.

Papers must be submitted electronically via EasyChair by March 17, 2020.


  • Julian Bass, University of Salford, UK (
  • Abdallah Salameh, University of Salford, UK

Program committee:

Julian Bass, University of Salford, UK

Parastoo Mohagheghi, NAV, Norway

Scarlet Rahy, University of Salford, UK

Klaas Stol Lero, University College Cork, Ireland

Abdallah Salameh, University of Salford, UK

Ömer Uludag, Technical University of Munich, Germany

Knut H. Rolland, University of Oslo, Norway

Denniz Donmez

Maria Paasivaara, IT University of Copenhagen & Aalto University

Torgeir Dingsøyr, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

Carl Marnewick, University of Johannesburg, South Africa

Darja Smite, Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden

Nils Brede Moe, SINTEF, Norway

Alexander Poth, Volkswagen AG

John Noll, University of Hertfordshire, UK

Viktoria Stray, University of Oslo, Norway

Eric Knauss, Chalmers | University of Gothenburg, Sweden

Helena Holmström Olsson, University of Malmo, Sweden

Peggy Gregory, UCLAN, UK

Tomas Gustavsson, Karlstads universitet

Jutta Eckstein, IT communication, Germany

Finn Olav Bjørnsson, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

Christoph Stettina, University of Leiden, Netherlands

Yvan Petit ESG UQAM, Canada

Jan Pries-Heje, Roskilde University, Denmark