XP 2019

MAY 21 – 25, 2019

Montréal, Canada

Welcome to XP 2019

20th International Conference on Agile Software Development

XP2019 20th International Conference on Agile Software Development was held the week of May 21 to 25th in Montreal, Canada.

XP is the premier Agile software development conference combining research and practice. It is a unique forum where Agile researchers, practitioners, thought leaders, coaches, and trainers get together to present and discuss their most recent innovations, research results, experiences, concerns, challenges, and trends. Whether you are new to Agile or a seasoned Agile practitioner, XP 2019 will provide an informal environment to learn and trigger discussions.

This conference was formerly known as the “International Conference on Extreme Programming (XP) and Agile Processes in Software Engineering.”

Conference Proceedings

Keynote Speakers


Agile, Mushrooms and Tibet


#NoFrameworks: How We Can Take Agile Back!


Programming in the Extreme: Finding a New Largest Known Prime

The Human Side of Agile

Watch the Keynote Talks

XP 2019 Experience Reports

XP 2019 Program


Conference Chair


Francois Coallier

École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS)

Program Chairs


Philippe Kruchten

University of British Columbia


Steven Fraser

Innoxec (Innovation Executive Services) 

Sponsor Liaison

Logistics & Registration

Press & Media


Organizing Team

  • General Chair: François Coallier (École de technologie supérieure)
  • Program Co-Chairs: Steven Fraser (Innoxec), Philippe Kruchten (UBC)
  • Local Arrangements: Patrick Cardinal (École de technologie supérieure)
  • Tutorials and Workshops: Robert Chatley (Imperial College), Shane McIntosh (McGill University)
  • Doctoral Symposium: Casper Lassenius (Aalto University), John Noll (University of East London)
  • Leadership Symposium: Dr. Gail Ferreira (Prima Leader, Inc.)
  • Industry and Practice: Alex Sloley (Construx), Dennis Mancl (MSWX Software Experts), Yang Wang (Bosch)
  • Experience Reports: Rebecca Wirfs-Brock (Agile Alliance), Steve Adolph (cPrime)
  • Educator’s Symposium: Craig Anslow (Victoria University Wellington), Martin Kropp (University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland)
  • Research Workshops: Rashina Hoda (University of Auckland)
  • Panels: Steven Fraser (Innoxec)
  • Research Posters: Philippe Kruchten (UBC)
  • Sponsors Liaison: Philip Brock (Agile Alliance)
  • Agile Montréal Liaison: Martin Goyette (Agile Montréal)
  • Communication & Marketing: Pam Hughes (Agile Alliance)
  • Press & Media Sponsors: Pam Hughes (Agile Alliance)
  • Students Volunteers Coordinator: Roberto Erick and Lopez Herrejon (École de technologie supérieure)

Program Committee

Steve Adolph

Development Knowledge

Ademar Aguiar

University of Porto

Daniel Amyot

University of Ottawa

Scott Ambler


Craig Anslow

Victoria University of Wellington

Hubert Baumeister

Technical University of Denmark

Jan Bosch

Chalmers University of Technology

Joanne Boyd


Nanette Brown


Frank Buschmann

Siemens AG

Fabio Calefato

University of Bari

Robert Chatley

Imperial College London

François Coallier

École de technologie supérieure

Steve Counsell

Brunel University

Robert Crawhall

Innoxec Innovation

Torgeir Dingsøyr

Norwegian University of Science and Technology

Yael Dubinsky


Christof Ebert


Neil Ernst

University of Victoria

Hakan Erdogmus

Carnegie Mellon University

Michael Felderer

University of Innsbruck

Dr. Gail Ferreira

Prima Leader, Inc.

Steven Fraser


Juan Garbajosa

Universidad Politécnica de Madrid

Alfredo Goldman

University of São Paulo

Tony Gorschek


Lorenzo Granai

Cisco Systems

Des Greer

Queen’s University Belfast

Peggy Gregory


Eduardo Guerra

National Institute of Space Research

Orit Hazzan

Technion – Israel Institute of Technology

Rashina Hoda

The University of Auckland

Helena Holmström Olsson

University of Malmo

Sami Hyrynsalmi

Tampere University

Deepti Jain


Andrea Janes

Free University of Bolzano

Martin Kropp

Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz (FHNW)

Philippe Kruchten

The University of British Columbia

Casper Lassenius

Aalto University

Ruth Lennon

Letterkenny Institute of Technology

Ville Leppänen

University of Turku, Department of Future Technologies

Lech Madeyski

Wroclaw University of Science and Technology

Dennis Mancl

MSWX Software Experts

Michele Marchesi

DMI – University of Cagliari

Sabrina Marczak


Shane Mcintosh

McGill University

Claudia Melo

University of Brasília

Daniel Méndez Fernández

Technical University of Munich

Tommi Mikkonen

University of Helsinki

Alok Mishra

Atilim University

Nils Brede Moe


Juergen Muench

Reutlingen University

John Noll

University of East London

Ipek Ozkaya

Carnegie Mellon Software Engineering Institute

Maria Paasivaara

IT University of Copenhagen & Aalto University

Aithne Pao

Higgs Hub Startup Incubator

Cecile Peraire

Carnegie Mellon University Silicon Valley

Ken Power

Cisco Systems

Pilar Rodríguez

University of Oulu

Bernhard Rumpe

RWTH Aachen University

Daniela S. Cruzes


Bran Selic

Malina Software Corp.

Hugo Sereno Ferreira

University of Porto

Helen Sharp

The Open University

Darja Smite

Blekinge Institute of Technology

Roberto Tonelli

Istanbul Technical University

Stefan Wagner

University of Stuttgart

Ru Wang

Pimax VR

Xiaofeng Wang

Free University of Bozen-Bolzano

Yang Wang

Bosch/University of Stuttgart

Hironori Washizaki

Waseda University

Michael Whalen

University of Minnesota

Laurie Williams

North Carolina State University

Agustin Yague

Universidad Politécnica de Madrid

Joseph Yoder

The Refactory, Inc.