The XP Conference

Brief History of the XP Conference

XP2000, held in June 2000 on the Mediterranean island of Sardinia with over 100 attendees, was the first “Agile” conference worldwide. XP2000 was also the first “Agile” conference to include a research track. Since then, XP, the International Conference on Agile Software Development, has established itself as THE Agile software development conference for research and practice combined. It is a unique forum where Agile researchers, practitioners, thought leaders, coaches, and trainers get together to present and discuss their most recent innovations, research results, experiences, concerns, and challenges. Since the year 2000, the conference has been held on an annual basis mainly in Europe. In 2003, Springer became the primary publisher of the conference proceedings:

The direction of the XP conference series is coordinated by the XP Steering Committee, a mix of past, current, and future XP conference and program chairs. The steering committee is responsible for the memory, continuity, and future of the XP conference as a conference for advanced practitioners and researchers in agile methodologies. The steering committee also selects the venue for each conference and provides advice to future XP conference organizers but is not involved in the management of conference logistics.

Looking for Organizers for 2023 and Beyond

To propose a venue and an organizing committee for XP2023, please email with a proposal by March 31, 2022. Your proposal should inform the XP Steering Committee of:

  1. The proposed general chair and program chair(s) with details of academic affiliations and previous conference leadership experience
  2. City and potential venue information – while XP is nominally a European conference, the steering committee welcomes proposals from all continents
  3. Details on the local Agile software community (academic and industry)
  4. Attributes of the location appealing to attendees
  5. Impact on the local and global Agile community catalyzed by proposed themes, etc.

2021 Membership of the XP Steering Committee

Hubert Baumeister
François Coallier
Jutta Eckstein
Steven Fraser
Juan Garbajosa (Committee Chair)
Peggy Gregory
Ellen Grove (Agile Alliance Ex-officio representative)
Casper Lassenius
Michele Marchesi
Maria Paasivaara
Viktoria Stray

Since 2017, XP has run under the auspices of the Agile Alliance, and XP2021 will be virtual. In 2022, XP is planned for Copenhagen

Past conference venues and organizers have included:

2000 – Cagliari, Italy (Michele Marchesi, Giancarlo Succi): June 21-23

2001 – Villasimius, Italy (Kent Beck, Michele Marchesi, Giancarlo Succi): May 21-23

2002 – Alghero, Italy (Kent Beck, Michel Marchesi, Giancarlo Succi): May 26-29

2003 – Genoa, Italy ( Jim Highsmith, Giancarlo Succi), May 25-29

2004 – Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany (Martin Fowler, Jutta Eckstein, Hubert Baumeister): June 6-10

2005 – Sheffield, UK (Michele Marchesi, Mike Holcombe, Jutta Eckstein, Hubert Baumeister): June 18-23

2006 – Oulu, Finland (Steven Fraser, Pekka Abrahamsson, Päivi Jaring): June 17-22

2007 – Como, Italy (Michele Marchesi, Giancarlo Succi): June 18-22

2008 – Limerick, Ireland (Pekka Abrahamsson, Brian Fitzpatrick, Xiaofeng Wang): June 10-14

2009 – Pula, Italy (Michele Marchesi, Pekka Abrahamsson, Frank Maurer):25-29 May

2010 – Trondheim, Norway (Hakan Erdogmus, Torgeir Dingsøyr, Nils Brede Moe): June 1-4

2011 – Madrid, Spain (Rachel Davies, Juan Garbajosa, Agustín Yagüe): 10-13 May

2012 – Malmo, Sweden (Erik Lundh, Claes Wohlin): 21-25 May

2013 – Vienna, Austria (Ralph Miarka, Hubert Baumeister, Barbara Weber): 3-7 June

2014 – Rome, Italy (Charlie Poole, Michele Marchesi, Giovanni Cantone): May 26-30

2015 – Helsinki, Finland (Maria Paasivaara, Casper Lassenius, Torgeir Dingsøyr): May 25-29

2016 – Edinburgh, UK (Seb Rose, Helen Sharp): May 24-27

2017 – Koln, Germany (Jutta Eckstein, Hubert Baumeister, Horst Lichter, Matthias Riebisch): May 22-26

2018 – Porto, Portugal (Ademar Aguiar, Juan Garbajosa, Xiaofeng Wang): May 21-25

2019 – Montreal, Quebec (François Coallier, Steven Fraser, Philippe Kruchten): May 21-25

2020 – Virtual, Worldwide (Maria Paasivaara, Viktoria Stray, Rashina Hoda): June 8-12

2021 – Virtual, Worldwide (Peggy Gregory, Casper Lassenius, Xiaofeng Wang): June 14-18