2012/2013 Agile Board Officers Elected

The Agile Alliance board met in Baltimore, Maryland September 28 - 30, 2012, at which time new officers were elected.

Rebecca Parsons was elected Chair of the Agile Alliance Board.  Parsons is CTO of ThoughtWorks. She has more than 20 years' application development experience, in industries ranging from telecommunications to emergent internet services. Parsons has published in both language and artificial intelligence publications, served on numerous program committees, and reviews for several journals. She has extensive experience leading in the creation of large-scale distributed object applications and the integration of disparate systems.

Ola Ellnestam was elected Secretary of the Agile Alliance Board.  Ellnestam became engaged in the Agile community in 2000 after reading Extreme Programming Explained. Fueled with this information, he began his Agile journey which later led him to start a company specializing in XP and Scrum. In 2005, Ellnestam helped started Agical, one of Sweden?s most prominent Agile coaching companies. As an expert in software development, he coaches both developers and leaders to learn Agile practices and methods. He also is one of the driving forces behind ?Agile Sweden?, Sweden?s biggest Agile network. In addition, Ellnestam will be the continuing director of the Agile Alliance Conference Sponsorship Program.

Linda Cook was elected Treasurer of the Agile Alliance Board.  Cook's primary areas of focus include: servant leadership, mentorship, types of individuals appropriate for the profession, and the differences between being an external coach versus being an internal employee in the coach role. Cook has more than 20 years' experience in the IT industry, having held positions from developer, forms designer, data modeler, analyst, tester and methodology lead. She has worked in a variety of industries, including financial systems, insurance, education, research, manufacturing and IT consulting.  She has recently moved to PayPal.