6th International Workshop on Large-Scale Agile Development (LargeScaleAgile)

Time Session/Activity Presenter
09:00 Welcome – program and motivation
Keynote: Experiences in Adopting the Scaled Agile  Framework (SAFe) Maria Paasivaara
Scaling Agile – How to Select the Most Appropriate Framework Philipp Diebold
Coordination by Feedback in Large-Scale Agile Software Development
Viktoria Stray
Interactive session/discussion
10:30 – 11:00 Break
Agile Portfolio Management Patterns – A Research Design Bettina Horlach
An experience report on using architectural models within
Scrum teams contexts
Nuno Santos
Interactive session/discussion
12:30 Lunch

Organizers: Torgeir Dingsøyr, Helena Holmsström Ohlson, Nils Brede Moe

Agile software development methods were made for small, co-located development teams, but are increasingly applied in other settings. Several large projects, with a number of teams that develop complex systems have started to use agile methods. How to apply agile methods to large projects was identified as the “top burning research question” by practitioners at XP2010. At XP2013 to XP2017, this workshop has addressed research challenges in large-scale agile development and identified topics such as inter-team coordination, large project organization, release planning and architecture and practices to scaling agile methods (see https://dl.acm.org/citation.cfm?doid=3120459.3120474 ).

For 2018, we especially seek contributions which present empirical studies of emerging frameworks for large-scale agile development such as the Scaled Agile Framework or Large-Scale Scrum. We seek contributions in the form of position papers with experience reports, empirical studies, reviews of relevant literature, and papers arguing for research needs or describing planned research.

We ask for contributions in the form of 4-page short-papers, which will be peer-reviewed by program committee members for acceptance or rejection. Extended and revised short-papers can be included in the post-conference proceedings published by ACM.

Please see the call for papers here.

Primary organizers:   

  • Torgeir Dingsøyr, SINTEF, Norway (Torgeir.Dingsoyr@sintef.no)
  • Helena Holmström Olsson, Malmö University, Sweden (helena.holmstrom.olsson@mah.se)
  • Nils Brede Moe, SINTEF, Norway (nilsm@sintef.no)

Tentative program committee:

  • Julian Bass, University of Salford, UK
  • Andrew Begel, Microsoft Research, USA
  • Saskia Bick, SAP SE, Germany
  • Finn Olav Bjørnson, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Kevin Crowston, Syracuse University, USA
  • Siva Dorairaj, Software Education, New Zealand
  • Jutta Eckstein, IT communication, Germany
  • Davide Falessi, California Polytechnic State University, USA
  • Tomas Gustavsson, Karlstad University, Sweden
  • Elke Hochmüller, Carinthia University of Applied Sciences, Austria
  • Juha Itkonen, Aalto University, Finland
  • Andreas Jedlitschka, Fraunhofer IESE, Germany
  • Eric Knauss, Gothenburg University, Sweden
  • Maarit Laanti, Nitor Delta, Finland
  • Parastoo Mohaghegi, Norwegian Welfare Administration
  • Sridhar Nerur, University of Texas, USA
  • Helena Holmström Olsson, Malmö University, Sweden
  • Jaana Nyfjord, SICS Swedish ICT
  • Maria Paasivaara, Aalto University, Finland
  • Yvan Petit, Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada
  • Jan Pries-Heje, Roskilde University, Denmark
  • Knut Rolland, SINTEF Digital, Norway
  • Alexander Scheerer, SAP SE, Germany
  • Rini van Solingen, Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands
  • Kai Spohrer, University of Mannheim, Germany
  • Christoph Stettina, Leiden University, the Netherlands
  • Klaas-Jan Stol, Lero – Irish Software Research Centre

Important dates:

Paper submission deadline: 3rd March, 2018 (No extension)
Paper notification: 6th April, 2018
Camera ready: 14th April, 2018